Borgia Yumminess

13 11 2011

A couple of weeks ago, I finished watching my second 2011 TV show on the Borgias. Both TV shows presented dramatically different events and chronologies. Hmmm. I wanted to find out the real dealio (which TV show was right, or were they both wrong?) so I checked out “The Family” by Mario Puzo. Of course, I didn’t notice  until a few days later this book was classified as fiction. No matter. Like the TV shows, “The Family” is soap-opera goodness. After “The Family” I found a TRUE nonfic on the Borgias:  “The Borgias and Their Enemies” by Christopher Hibbert.

This is a review of these two books. First, the Puzo book. Yes, read it! 🙂 It presents yet a third chronology compared with the TV shows, but what a yummy, weird chronology it is. Puzo has the whispered-about incest flying its proud freak flag here. In one scene, the pope watches his son Cesare and daughter Lucrezia have sex. Cesare is supposed to break Lucrezia’s virginity and be gentle about it. Alas, Cesare knows not gentleness, so dear old Daddy admonishes his son and takes Cesare’s hand. He guides the hand all over Lucrezia’s body as she becomes aroused.

Dad becomes aroused too, but to his credit, he leaves at last. Icky and at the same time OH MY GOD… REALLY?? I HAVE TO READ THIS kind of stuff.

Daddy Pope was not a very nice guy. Or a nice dad, either. He especially had a blind spot concerning his favorite (spoiled brat of a) son, Juan. Now, this book is written kind of superficially. This means Puzo doesn’t really get deep into the character’s emotions or what they are feeling. In this respect, it reads very much like you’re watching a TV show. This did not bother me in the least because I’d just come off these two Borgia shows. I enjoyed this style quite a bit, but I might not have if I had not just finished with the shows.

OK, now on to “The Borgias and Their Enemies.” This nonfic book was okay. In some places, however, it reads as a mere recital of lists and events. I have a feeling there are better Borgia nonfics out there, and I’m going to read them — after taking a Borgia break 😉 It’s possible that one reason this nonfic book numbed me was my Borgia overdose.

 

Actions

Information

One response

27 02 2012
Pieces Form the Whole — a Review of “Sistine Heresy” by Justine Saracen « Groovy Pages

[…] each other’s books. I love the Borgias, so I was eager to read the book (see a review I did here on a couple of Borgia […]

Leave a Reply

