Is Amanda Knox Guilty?

25 07 2011

Before I sat to read the book “Murder in Italy” by Candace Dempsey, I had vague knowledge, at best, of the Amanda Knox case. About a year ago, I’d watched an hour-long special on the case on TV–one of these news magazine shows. I don’t even remember which show. The special, aired after Knox, her boyfriend and another man were found guilty of murdering her roommate, said that Knox claimed she was treated unfairly and that her trial was a sham. I did not give her claims much thought, attributing them to things all guilty people say. She probably WAS guilty, I thought. After all, I reasoned, a court would not have found her guilty.

Wrong.

Yesterday, I started “Murder in Italy” and had a hard time putting it down. I’m ashamed for the quick conclusion I leaped to a year ago. Not only is it possible Amanda is innocent, it’s quite very likely positively wholeheartedly true that she IS innocent. First up, the Italian justice system is very different from the American system. Jurors are allowed to talk to one another, watch coverage about the case on TV and read media and news reports. Jurors are allowed to sleep in court. There does not seem to be a presumption of “presumed innocent until proven guilty.”

Amanda’s trial was a dazzling array of character assassination, wild guesses and scandal. The prosecution had NOTHING tying her to the crime. No blood evidence, no DNA, no nothing. The book is well worth reading to see how events spiraled out of control.

Knox’s case is under appeal right now, and I hope justice is eventually served.

(Disclaimer: Some reviewers elsewhere have said Candace Dempsey is a friend of the Knox family and blogged on the case throughout. Whether this is true, I do not know, but even taking this in mind, I find the way Amanda was railroaded shameful. I am going to read a few other Knox books to get other perspectives.)

 

*** Edited to add:

The police and prosecutors made so many missteps I don’t know where to start. But here’s a huge one. They wiretapped (without permission) Amanda’s phones and her conversations in police rooms, including conversations between only her and one of the suspects. If anything incriminating would be said, it would be then. Nothing was said. However, soooo conveniently, the police did not record their interviews with Amanda herself. So, her confession and her allegations of police brutality–not on tape. I have to say that this book has kind of scared me off from visiting Italy, lest I accidentally get caught in the country’s “in”justice system.

 

Actions

Information

6 responses

25 07 2011
Doris Riley Short

This Knox case is something I do not know enough about to comment. So I will comment anyway! The excessive opinion coverage of some crimes makes it sort of impossible to sort thru to the facrs. I may read this book, or look up some news articles about the case. It seems almost impossible to judge ‘news’ unless you first get a bio of the news writer. Course I also have realized that history is often tainted by the reporter.

22 08 2011
Candace Dempsey

Thank you so much for this thoughtful review of my book, MURDER IN ITALY, the true story of Amanda Knox. My book grew out of my seatttlepi.com blog and I’m an award-winning journalist, not a friend of the Knox family.

Amanda’s case is now on appeal and I’ll be blogging about it until the final bell. http://blog.seattlepi.com/dempsey

16 09 2011
lesbianspaghetti

I’ve always been the lone believer amongst those I know, that she is quite possibly innocent.

15 12 2012
Lakesha

Useful. I agree.

16 09 2013
harryrag (@harryrag)

The English translation of the Italian Supreme Court report which explains why Amanda Knox and Raffaele Sollecito’s acquittals were annulled can be downloaded from the Perugia Murder File website:

http://www.perugiamurderfile.org/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=599

31 12 2013
harryrag (@harryrag)

If anybody wants to understand the reasons why Amanda Knox was convicted of murder, I recommend reading the translations of the official court documents and court testimony. They are available online at the Meredith Kercher wiki website:

http://themurderofmeredithkercher.com/Main_Page

Leave a Reply

